26 Nov 2018

Michaela Blyde named sevens player of the year

11:48 am on 26 November 2018

New Zealand's Michaela Blyde has been named women's sevens player for the second straight year.

New Zealand's Michaela Blyde cutting through the USA defense

New Zealand's Michaela Blyde cutting through the USA defense Photo: Mike Lee - KLC fotos for World Rugby

Blyde was the only New Zealander to pick up a major award at World Rugby's annual awards night in Monte Carlo.

Blyde edged out teammates Sarah Goss and Portia Woodman for the title after the Black Ferns Sevens won Commonwealth Games gold, the World Cup and finished second in the 2018 World Series.

She scored 37 tries during the World Series.

Ireland swept the men's honours with the Six Nations champions named team of the year, their New Zealand mentor Joe Schmidt was named coach of the year and first five Johnny Sexton won player of the year.

Ireland first five Johnny Sexton.

Ireland first five Johnny Sexton. Photo: © INPHO 2018

Ireland lost just one Test this year (Australia in June), completed the Grand Slam and beat the All Blacks for the first time at home last week.

Beauden Barrett and Rieko Ioane were finalists.

French fullback Jessy Tremouliere was named women's fifteens player of the year while retiring Black Ferns skipper Fiao'o Faamausili was one of the finalists.

All Blacks player Brodie Retallick won 'Try of the Year' for an end-to-end try scored against Australia.

Brodie Retallick makes a break to score a try. Australia v New Zealand Bledisloe Cup. 2018.

Brodie Retallick. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Retallick was the last receiver and then threw a dummy before scoring in the All Blacks win over the wallabies at the start of the Rugby Championship.

Former All Black Sevens captain DJ Forbes shared the International Rugby Players Association Special Merit Award with former Wallabies captain Stephen Moore.