25 Oct 2018

Cricket: Top NZ cricketers to be honoured

12:01 pm on 25 October 2018

One has a Test average of 144, another has scored more than 100 first-class centuries.

There's one who holds the record for the fastest Test ton, and one who sits in an exclusive club with Ian Botham and Kapil Dev.

Some of the biggest names in New Zealand cricket are set to be elected life members of New Zealand Cricket at the annual general meeting in Wellington next month.

Twelve former Test players have been recommended for life membership, their playing careers spanning the past 50 years of international cricket, from Glenn Turner (1969-1983) to Brendon McCullum (2004-2016).

Included in the nominees are three stars of the New Zealand women's team - Debbie Hockley, Lesley Murdoch and Emily Drumm.

Emily Drumm playing against Australia at the World Cup in 2000.

Emily Drumm playing against Australia at the World Cup in 2000. Photo: Photosport

The chair of NZC Greg Barclay said the time elapsed since the previous election of life members meant a larger-than-usual intake of nominees for this year - but that future nominations would be considered on an annual basis.

"This is a truly esteemed group of people who have made enormous contributions to NZC and the game in general, and I'm delighted they're soon to receive the recognition they deserve.

The nominees include Drumm, who has a Test average of 144.33.

Hockley, one of only three New Zealanders (along with Sir Richard Hadlee and Martin Crowe) inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame, and Murdoch, a former New Zealand captain, NZC board member, and long-serving sports broadcaster.

Brendon McCullum celebrates a world record test century.

Brendon McCullum celebrates a world record test century. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

There's Turner with 103 first-class hundreds, Brendon McCullum - holder of the New Zealand record for highest Test score (302) and the world record for the fastest Test century (54 balls), and Daniel Vettori, one of only three players to have scored 4000 Test runs and taken 300 Test wickets.

Glenn Turner

Glenn Turner Photo: Photosport

Also to be recognised are John Wright and Stephen Boock, who both debuted in New Zealand's first-ever Test win against England 50 years ago and went on to serve NZC in different ways - Wright as a coach, and Boock as a director and President.

Former captains Geoffrey Howarth, Jeremy Coney and Stephen Fleming will be celebrated, as will former wicket-keeper Ian Smith.