21 Oct 2018

Provincial rugby finalists confirmed

7:25 pm on 21 October 2018

The finalists for the 2018 Mitre 10 Cup and Mitre 10 Heartland Championship finalists have been confirmed.

Akira Ioane celebrates a try with Melani Nanai in the semi-final against Wellington.

Akira Ioane celebrates a try with Melani Nanai in the semi-final against Wellington. Photo: Photosport

Auckland will host Canterbury in the Mitre 10 Cup Premiership Final at Eden Park next Saturday.

Semifinal victory over Wellington secured a spot in the Final for Auckland, number 8 Akira Ioane contributed two of his team's five tries in the 38-17 win.

Canterbury advance courtesy of a 21-16 semifinal victory of Tasman in Nelson. Captain Mitch Drummond was instrumental in a composed performance that saw Canterbury come from behind, two second half Drummond tries sealing the victory.

Auckland Rugby has announced entry to Eden Park for the Final will be free of charge.

The Championship Final will be played in Hamilton, Waikato hosting Otago with the winner gaining promotion into the 2019 Premiership.

Waikato had to come from behind in their semifinal fixture against Northland, four tries to wing Sevu Reece and a perfect record off the boot for Fletcher Smith confirmed the 48-26 win.

Otago left it late to get the job done against a gritty Hawke's Bay team, but a Josh Ioane penalty after the buzzer stole the 20-19 result.

In the Mitre 10 Heartland Championship, there will be a new name on the Meads Cup with South Canterbury and Thames Valley going head to head in the Final.

South Canterbury were dominant in their semifinal, with a 58-21 win over King Country to secure home advantage in the Final.

Thames Valley provided the upset of the weekend, beating top-finishing Wanganui 17-7 to advance to their first Meads Cup Final.

The Lochore Cup will be decided in Levin with Horowhenua Kapiti hosting Wairarapa Bush for the title.

Horowhenua Kapiti beat 34-24 in their semifinal while Wairarapa Bush got past North Otago 30-21.