20 Oct 2018

David Pocock wins John Eales Medal

5:42 am on 20 October 2018

Wallabies loose forward David Pocock has been named the Australian rugby player of the year.

Wallabies loose forward David Pocock.

Wallabies loose forward David Pocock. Photo: Photosport

Pocock has crowned his stellar return to international rugby by claiming the John Eales Medal.

The champion back-rower collected his second medal despite only playing eight of the 13 Tests during the voting period, which began on last year's spring tour of Japan and Europe.

Pocock dominated the medal count, amassing 262 votes - 123 more of runner-up Lukhan Tui - to underline his immense value to the Wallabies after his 2017 sabbatical.

"It's very special," the 30-year-old said.

"I've loved being back in the Wallabies jersey this year. It's an outstanding group. We haven't got the results that we're after but we're working on it."

The workhorse forward also reinforced his standing in the eyes of Wallabies supporters by taking out the fan's choice award as Wallabies player of the year.

"Individual awards in teams sports are always a bit awkward. Your teammates are the guys you want to play well for. It's a huge honour but it feels a bit strange," Pocock said.

Having also snared the John Eales Medal in 2010, Pocock joins fellow Wallabies greats George Smith, Nathan Sharp and current captain Michael Hooper as a dual winner of Australian rugby's highest individual honour.

Only superstar code hopper Israel Folau, with three gongs, has won more.

A host of other stars were recognised at Friday night's awards at Royal Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, including Queensland Reds prop Taniela Tupou, who was named Super Rugby player of the year.


2002: George Smith

2003: Phil Waugh

2004: David Lyons

2005: Jeremy Paul

2006: Chris Latham

2007: Nathan Sharpe

2008: George Smith

2009: Matt Giteau

2010: David Pocock

2011: Kurtley Beale

2012: Nathan Sharpe

2013: Michael Hooper

2014: Israel Folau

2015: Israel Folau

2016: Michael Hooper

2017: Israel Folau

2018: David Pocock