15 Oct 2018

Auckland flanker Dalton Papali'i bolter in All Blacks squad

1:40 pm on 15 October 2018

The Auckland flanker Dalton Papali'i is the bolter in the All Blacks 32 man squad for their end of year tour.

Dalton Papali'i on the burst for Auckland.

Dalton Papali'i on the burst for Auckland. Photo: Photosport

The Crusaders openside flanker Matt Todd has also been included despite currently playing his rugby in Japan.

21 year old Papali'i has impressed in this year's provincial rugby competition.

He comes in following injuries to Sam Cane and the unavailability of Shannon Frizell and Tasman loose forward contender Jordan Taufua.

Todd has also been selected after being granted an exemption by the New Zealand Rugby.

Coach Steve Hansen has named a core of 32 for the trip which starts with matches against Australia and Japan in Japan, then games in Europe against England, Ireland and Italy.

The core 32 also includes the return of Liam Squire, Dane Coles and Brodie Retallick.

19 extra players will be available for the Test against Japan.

Matt Todd

Matt Todd Photo: Photosport

The seven new All Blacks in that wider squad are: Tasman prop Tyrel Lomax and fellow prop, Taranaki's Reuben O'Neill, Hawke's Bay loose forward Gareth Evans, North Harbour halfback Bryn Hall, Canterbury first five-eighth Brett Cameron, Wellington midfielder Matt Proctor and Canterbury winger George Bridge.

Also returning are three players who played non-Tests on last year's Northern Tour: Wellington hooker Asafo Aumua, North Harbour loose forward Dillon Hunt, and Canterbury halfback Mitchell Drummond

Hansen has been impressed with Papali'i.

We congratulate Dalton on being named in the 32-man squad for the Tour. He has played outstanding rugby this year and deserves his opportunity."

"We also congratulate those new All Blacks named in the wider squad for the Japan Test. All these players and their families can be proud of the hard work, commitment and dedication that has led to this point," Hansen said.

Tour Schedule

v Australia - Yokohama, October 27

v Japan - Tokyo, November 3

v England - London, November 11

v Ireland - Dublin, November 18

v Italy - Rome, November 25

The 32-man squad is as follows (with age, province and Test caps in bracket. New All Blacks in bold):


Dane Coles (31, Wellington, 56)

Nathan Harris (26, Bay of Plenty, 18)

Codie Taylor (27, Canterbury, 38)


Owen Franks (30, Canterbury, 103)

Nepo Laulala (27, Counties Manukau, 13)

Joe Moody (30, Canterbury, 36)

Karl Tu'inukuafe (25, North Harbour, 9)

Ofa Tuungafasi (26, Auckland, 22)


Scott Barrett (23, Taranaki, 14)

Brodie Retallick (27, Hawke's Bay, 71)

Patrick Tuipulotu (25, Auckland, 19)

Samuel Whitelock (30, Canterbury, 105)

Loose Forwards

Vaea Fifita (26, Wellington, 7)

Dalton Papalii (21, Auckland, uncapped)

Kieran Read, captain (32, Counties Manukau, 114)

Ardie Savea (25, Wellington, 31)

Liam Squire (27, Tasman, 20)

Matt Todd (30, Canterbury, 14)


TJ Perenara (26, Wellington, 51)

Aaron Smith (28, Manawatu, 79)

Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (23, Taranaki, 1)

First five-eighths

Beauden Barrett (27, Taranaki, 69)

Damian McKenzie (23, Waikato, 19)

Richie Mo'unga (24, Canterbury, 4)


Ryan Crotty (30, Canterbury, 41)

Jack Goodhue (23, Northland, 5)

Anton Lienert-Brown (23, Waikato, 30)

Sonny Bill Williams (33, Counties Manukau, 49)

Outside backs

Jordie Barrett (21, Taranaki, 7)

Rieko Ioane (21, Auckland, 20)

Waisake Naholo (27, Taranaki, 24)

Ben Smith (32, Otago, 73)

Tyrel Lomax

Tyrel Lomax Photo: Photosport

19-man squad who will assemble in Japan following the Bledisloe Cup Test to prepare for the Test against Japan.

Those players are as follows (with age, province and Test caps in bracket. New All Blacks in bold):


Asafo Aumua (20, Wellington, uncapped, two non-Tests)

Liam Coltman (28, Otago, 3)


Tyrel Lomax (22, Tasman, uncapped)

Reuben O'Neill (23, Taranaki, uncapped)

Tim Perry (29, Tasman, 5)

Angus Ta'avao (28, Taranaki, 1)


Luke Romano (32, Canterbury, 31)

Loose Forwards

Jackson Hemopo (24, Manawatu, 2)

Gareth Evans (27, Hawke's Bay, uncapped)

Dillon Hunt (23, North Harbour, uncapped, one non-Test)

Luke Whitelock (27, Canterbury, 6)


Mitchell Drummond (24, Canterbury, uncapped, one non-Test)

Bryn Hall (26, North Harbour, uncapped)

First five-eighths

Brett Cameron (21, Canterbury, uncapped)


Ngani Laumape (25, Manawatu, 8)

Matt Proctor (25, Wellington, uncapped)

Outside backs

George Bridge (23, Canterbury, uncapped)

David Havili (23, Tasman, 3)

Nehe Milner-Skudder (27, Manawatu, 12)