9 Aug 2018

Drysdale wins spot in quad

7:13 pm on 9 August 2018

Two-time Olympic rowing champion Mahe Drysdale will shift boats to race in the men's quad for New Zealand at next month's World Championships in Bulgaria.

Mahe Drysdale.

Mahe Drysdale. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Veteran sculler Drysdale missed out on the lone men's single seat up for grabs after being beaten by rival Robbie Manson at last month's World Cup event in Switzerland.

But not content to sit out of the World Championships, the 39-year-old trialled for and has successfully earned a spot in the quad.

Drysdale joins Lewis Hollows, Cameron Crampton and Nathan Flannery in the boat, with Jordan Parry the rower to miss out from last month's World Cup, where the crew won the B final.

The only other boat to undergo change for the pinnacle event was the men's eight.

James Lassche and Martyn O'Leary come into the crew, with Anthony Allen forced out with a shoulder injury and Joe Wright going to the reserve men's pair.

"We saw an impressive performance from New Zealand during this year's World Rowing Cup II and III, and we're confident we're presenting an even stronger front for the World Championships.

"Despite training throughout New Zealand's winter, we topped the medal table in Europe at World Rowing Cup III and our team have proven themselves as a very competition threat for all rowing nations."

New Zealand squad


Single Scull: Robbie Manson

Coxless Pair: Tom Murray, Michael Brake

Double Scull: Chris Harris, John Storey

Lightweight Double Scull: Ben van Dalen, Matthew Dunham

Quad: Lewis Hollows, Cameron Crampton, Mahe Drysdale, Nathan Flannery

Coxless Four: Thomas Russel, Tom Mackintosh, Matt MacDonald, Angus McFarlane

Eight: Stephen Jones, James Lassche, Isaac Grainger, Shaun Kirkham, Cameron Webster, Martyn O'Leary, Brook Robertson, Phillip Wilson; Caleb Shepherd (cox)

Reserve Double Scull: Jordan Parry, Giacomo Thomas

Reserve Coxless Pair: Ben Taylor, Joe Wright


Single Scull: Hannah Osborne

Coxless Pair: Kerri Gowler, Grace Prendergast

Double Scull: Olivia Loe, Brooke Donoghue

Lightweight Double Scull: Jackie Kiddle, Zoe McBride

Coxless Four: Ellie Jeurissen, Georgia Perry, Phoebe Spoors, Ruby Tew

Eight: Kelsey Bevan, Kelsi Walters, Emma Dyke, Beth Ross, Jackie Gowler, Lucy Spoors, Kelsi Parker, Ella Greenslade; Sam Bosworth (cox)

Reserve Single Scull: Kirstyn Goodger