18 Jul 2018

Hurricanes and Chiefs lineups named for quarter final

5:46 pm on 18 July 2018

The Chiefs welcome back their frontline team for Friday's Super Rugby quarter-final showdown with the Hurricanes in Wellington.

Sam Cane

Sam Cane Photo: Photosport

Following last weekend's 28-24 win in Hamilton, the Chiefs have brought back key players in both the forwards and the backline.

In the forwards, Karl Tu'inukuafe and Nathan Harris are back in the front row, with Sam Cane starting at openside flanker.

In the backs, Damian McKenzie comes back in to First Five-Eighth, with Charlie Ngatai starting at 12 and Sean Wainui slotting back in to right wing.

Brad Shields.

Brad Shields. Photo: Photosport

Meanwhile Hurricanes duo, Brad Shields and Wes Goose have been bracketed for the match.

Shields is recovering from a rib injury while Goosen is undergoing concussion protocol following the head knock he took from Chiefs centre Johnny Fa'auli last weekend.

Shields is pencilled to start, if he doesn't get over the injury in time, Reed Princep will take the number six jersey.

Goosen is bracketed along with Jonah Lowe on the bench.

Jeff Toomaga-Allen looks to break the Brumbies defense

Friday's match will be Jeff Toomaga-Allen's 100th Super Rugby match. Photo: © Photosport Ltd 2018 www.photosport.nz

Jordie Barrett will start at centre with Nehe Milner-Skudder at fullback.

Jamie Booth is the Hurricanes reserve halfback after Finlay Christie suffered a facial fracture during last weekend's match.

Friday's quarter-final will also double as Jeff Toomaga-Allen's 100th Super Rugby match.

Toomaga-Allen made his debut for the Hurricanes back in 2012 against the Stormers alongside Ben May, TJ Perenara and Shields.

The Chiefs team to face the Hurricanes:

1. Karl Tu'inukuafe (15)

2. Nathan Harris (43)

3. Angus Ta'avao (16)

4. Brodie Retallick (97)

5. Michael Allardice (33)

6. Lachlan Boshier (29)

7. Sam Cane (105)

8. Liam Messam (178)

9. Brad Weber (56)

10. Damian McKenzie (64)

11. Shaun Stevenson (32)

12. Charlie Ngatai (54)

13. Anton Lienert-Brown (54)

14. Sean Wainui (14)

15. Solomon Alaimalo (25)

16. Liam Polwart (19)

17. Sam Prattley (9)

18. Jeff Thwaites (11)

19. Jesse Parete (8)

20. Mitch Karpik (12)

21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi (16)

22. Marty McKenzie (18)

23. Alex Nankivell (9)

The Hurricanes squad to face the Chiefs:

15 Nehe Milner-Skudder

14 Julian Savea

13 Jordie Barrett

12 Ngani Laumape

11 Ben Lam

10 Beauden Barrett

9 TJ Perenara

8 Blade Thomson

7 Gareth Evans

6 Brad Shields (c) or Reed Prinsep

5 Sam Lousi

4 Michael Fatialofa

3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen

2 Ricky Riccitelli

1 Toby Smith

16 James O'Reilly

17 Chris Eves

18 Ben May

19 Vaea Fifita

20 Reed Prinsep or Sam Henwood

21 Jamie Booth

22 Ihaia West

23 Wes Goosen or Jonah Lowe