17 Feb 2018

Australia chase down mammoth total

6:14 am on 17 February 2018

Australia pulled off the highest run chase in a Twenty20 international to claim a dramatic five-wicket victory over New Zealand in their tri-series clash in Auckland.

David Warner batting.

David Warner batting. Photo: © Copyright Andrew Cornaga / www.photosport.nz Photosport Ltd 2018

Set a mammoth 244 to win at Eden Park, the visitors achieved their target with seven balls to spare as David Warner (59 off 24 balls) and D'Arcy Short (76 off 44) ran riot.

Short went on to anchor Australia's innings, reaching 76 before he skied a Trent Boult short ball to New Zealand wicketkeeper Tim Siefert.

Australia's top and middle order also pitched in, Chris Lynn made 18, Glenn Maxwell 31 and Aaron Finch 36 off 14 balls.

New Zealand's bowlers were punished by Eden Park's notorious short boundary, paceman Ben Wheeler went for 64 runs off 3.1 overs without taking a wicket.

Sodhi was the only New Zealand bowler to keep his economy rate under 10, going for 35 runs off his four overs with one wicket.

It was a night of high scoring with New Zealand's batters also reaping the benefits of the short boundary.

Openers Martin Guptill and Colin Munro put a 132-run stand before Munro was caught on 76.

Guptill went on to make 105, his second T20 century and fastest hundred by a New Zealander.

Martin Guptill celebrates his century.

Martin Guptill celebrates his century. Photo: Andrew Cornaga / Photosport

He also became the highest run scorer in International T20s, surpassing former Black Caps captain, Brendon McCullum's total of 2140.

New Zealand's middle order failed to carry on the openers momentum, Tim Siefert went for 12 off six balls, while Mark Chapman managed 16 off 14.

Kane Richardson and Andrew Tye took two wickets each for Australia while Ashton Agar was the only bowler to keep his economy rate under 10 an over.

Australia have already qualified for next week's Tri Series final at the same venue, New Zealand now need to beat England in Hamilton to face Australia again.