29 Jan 2018

Dixon claims title at Daytona

9:07 am on 29 January 2018

New Zealand driver Scott Dixon has won another title at the Daytona 24-hour endurance race with his Chip Ganassi team.

Scott Dixon

Scott Dixon Photo: Supplied

Dixon and his teammates, Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook, won the GTLM class of the race, racking up 783 laps.

The trio finished 11th overall, 25 laps behind the race winner which came from the prototype class.

It's the third time Dixon has won at the Daytona 24-hour, his first came in 2006 and his second 2015.

Fellow New Zealander Earl Bamber finished 17th overall, sixth in the GTLM class, nine laps behind Dixon.