24 Jan 2018

NZers up for top rugby award

7:26 am on 24 January 2018

Two New Zealand players have been nominated for the European Professional Club Rugby Player of the Year.

Leinster's Isa Nacewa

Leinster's Isa Nacewa Photo: Photosport

Former Blues back Isa Nacewa is one of four Leinster players included after the Irish club went through pool play unbeaten in the Champions Cup, while Victor Vito is again included for his efforts with French club La Rochelle.

Players from eight different clubs and all three European leagues are among the 15 nominees.

Last year's winner, Owen Farrell of Saracens, is included once again.

The list will be reduced to five players in April following the Champions Cup semi-finals by a combination of the public vote and the verdict of the panel of judges.

EPCR European Player of the Year award 2018 nominees

Tadhg Beirne (Scarlets)

Levani Botia (La Rochelle)

Gareth Davies (Scarlets)

Scott Fardy (Leinster)

Owen Farrell (Saracens)

Tadhg Furlong (Leinster)

Conor Murray (Munster)

Isa Nacewa (Leinster)

Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)

Morgan Parra (Clermont)

Dany Priso (La Rochelle)

Alivereti Raka (Clermont)

Jonathan Sexton (Leinster)

Josua Tuisova (Toulon)

Victor Vito (La Rochelle)