20 Sep 2017

Tuivasa-Sheck named Warriors player of the year

7:19 am on 20 September 2017

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck has been named the Warriors' player of the year, just the fifth back in the National Rugby League club's 23 seasons to receive the award.

The other finalists Simon Mannering, a record five-time winner, and halfback Shaun Johnson.

While he wasn't able to lead the Warriors to their first finals appearance in six years - the club finished 13th - Tuivasa-Sheck appeared in all but one of their 24 matches.

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck running with the ball

Roger Tuivasa-Sheck. Photo: Photosport

The other backs to receive the award previously are Manu Vatuvei in 2010 Francis Meli (2003), Stacey Jones (1997) and Tea Ropati (1995).

Mannering won the People's Choice Award after a season in which he went past Jones' club record of 261 appearances.

He finished on 280 games to leave him on track to become the first player to reach 300 NRL matches for the Warriors.