7 May 2017

NZ win Oceania Rugby Under 20 Champs

5:56 am on 7 May 2017

New Zealand's Under 20 rugby team will take the Oceania Championship Trophy home for a third consecutive year after beating Australia 43-6 on the Gold Coast.

New Zealand Under 20 captain Luke Jacobson.

New Zealand Under 20 captain Luke Jacobson. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

In the opening stages of the match, Australia dominated possession and territory as they starved New Zealand of the ball in the opening exchanges.

Harry Nucifora scored the first points of the match for the men in gold as he gave the home side a 3-0 lead.

New Zealand were able to earn possession and score their first points of the match off the back of a dominant scrum within the Australian red zone with Captain Luke Jacobson diving over for the try.

They continued to test the Australian defence taking their lead to 3-10 through a penalty kick through flyhalf Tiaan Falcon.

Isaia Walker-Leawere then crossed the line after several phases of attack taking the score to 3-17 despite an aggressive defense effort by the Australians.

New Zealand complied Australia's issues with another try through the backs as centre Tamati Ruka Tua scored in the corner to take a 6-29 lead.

In the second half Tom Christie and Luke Jacobson extended New Zealand's lead to 43-6.