16 Dec 2016

Barrett named NZ rugby player of the year

6:33 am on 16 December 2016

All Blacks first five Beauden Barret has capped a stellar season by claiming the player of the year prize at last night's New Zealand Rugby Awards.

Beauden Barrett

Beauden Barrett Photo: Photosport

Barrett and younger brother Jordie were the night's big winners, while the All Blacks dominated the major categories at the ceremony in Auckland.

In an historic year in which the team set a world record for consecutive tier one victories, won the Rugby Championship and the Bledisloe Cup, the All Blacks were named team of the year for the sixth straight time.

The Barrett brothers won four awards between them.

Beauden Barrett, who was recently also named world rugby's player of the year, added the top individual domestic award - the Kelvin Tremain trophy - to his trophy cabinet.

He also won the Super Rugby Player of the Year award.

Younger brother Jordie won age-grade player of the year and provincial premiership player of the year.

Manawatu's Selica Winiata won women's player of the year.

The Black Ferns fullback scored a slew of tries over the season, including two in the side's 20-10 scrappy win over Canada and four in a rout of the Australian side in October.

Winiata is now the highest try scorer in women's first-class rugby.

Selica Winiata

Selica Winiata Photo: Photosport

All Blacks coach Steve Hansen was named coach of the year for the fifth successive year.

Hansen maintained the All Blacks' international domination after last year's World Cup win and the departure of over 800 caps worth of experience.

They won a record 18 consecutive tests, the Rugby Championship in a clean sweep, and secured the Bledisloe Cup for the fourteenth year in a row.

They also had a series win over Wales and suffered just one loss to Ireland to finish the year with 13 wins and one loss.

Reiko Ioanne won the men's sevens player of the year and Sarah Goss the women's category.

Dane Coles was named Maori player of the year, Wanganui's Rangatira Waitokia won Heartland Championship player award, and Glen Jackson was named referee of the year.

New Zealand women's sevens player Sarah Goss.

Sarah Goss. Photo: PHOTOSPORT