13 Dec 2016

Bromwich, Harris and Taumalolo finalists for Kiwi of the year

9:59 am on 13 December 2016

New Zealand rugby league captain Jesse Bromwich faces challenges from Melbourne Storm club-mate Tohu Harris and Dally M Medal winner Jason Taumalolo for the 2016 NZRL Kiwis Player of the Year.

Jason Taumalolo in action for the Kiwis

Jason Taumalolo in action for the Kiwis Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Bromwich took out the award last year and has since risen to the post of national team captain, leading the Kiwis in six tests over the past 12 months.

He was also named Melbourne Storm Player of the Year and Dally M Prop of the Year in the NRL competition.

Harris turned out in three different positions - centre, five-eighth and second row - and extending his career to 16 tests.

Taumalolo came of age in the NRL during 2016, sharing Dally M Medal honours with Storm playmaker Cooper Cronk, while taking out the lock award.

The Kiwis won just one of their six Tests this year.

Canberra wing Jordan Rapana, club-mate Joseph Tapine and NZ Warriors centre Solomone Kata face off for the Kiwis Rookie of the Year award.

Kiwi Ferns captain and twice previous winner Sarina Fiso will again contest Women's Player of the Year, after leading the national team to victory over Australia at both the NRL Nines and mid-year test in Newcastle.

She faces competition from Georgia Hale, named MVP at both international events, and Krystal Rota, who was MVP of the NZ Maori Tournament and scored the winning try in the NZRL national women's national final.

The winners will be announced in January.