26 Nov 2016

Two new caps in Black Ferns

2:42 pm on 26 November 2016

Black Ferns coach Glenn Moore has named two new caps in his squad for the final match of their northern tour against Ireland on Monday.

Glenn Moore.

Glenn Moore. Photo: Photosport

Sosili Talawadua and Jackie Fereti have been named on the bench.

Head Coach Glenn Moore has named four changes to the team that beat Canada 20-10 in Dublin on Thursday.

Honey Hireme returns to the wing and Angie Sisifa starts at number eight.

Moore said the selection of Talawadua was due to her hard work throughout the Farah Palmer Cup, and the team was delighted with her inclusion.

"Sosoli was in the Black Ferns squad when it went away to Canada last year and didn't get a chance to be included in the 23. She gets her first opportunity to get game time and the team is really excited for her and she's excited as well."

After two wins from two matches against England (25-20) and Canada, Moore said there was still room for improvement.

"There's a lot more in us yet. The good thing is we've come over here and we've had to win tough and hang tough and fight it right out to the finish. That's been good for the squad and ultimately we'll get the benefits of that."

The team is (* denotes new cap):

1. Toka Natu

2. Fiao'o Faamausili - captain

3. Aleisha Nelson (20th cap)

4. Eloise Blackwell

5. Charlene Gubb

6. Charmaine Smith

7. Charmaine McMenamin

8. Angie Sisifa

9. Kendra Cocksedge

10. Kelly Brazier

11. Renee Wickliffe

12. Chelsea Alley

13. Portia Woodman

14. Honey Hireme

15. Selica Winiata - vice captain


16. Sosoli Talawadua*

17. Aldora Itunu

18. Aotearoa Mata'u

19. Jackie Fereti (nee Patea)

20. Sharnita Woodman

21. Kristina Sue

22. Hazel Tubic

23. Janna Vaughan

24 Kiritapu Demant

Carla Hohepa and Aroha Savage weren't considered for selection due to injuries sustained in the Test match against Canada.

The Irish side were just beated by England 12-10 and couldn't match Canada 28 - 7.

The Black Ferns take on Ireland at 3:00AM NZT Monday 28 November at the the Bowl, UCD, Dublin.