18 Feb 2010

Australian cricket selectors opt not to tinker with winning formula

6:59 pm on 18 February 2010

The Australian cricket selectors have not suprisingly, chosen not to tinker with a winner formula in naming their one day squad to play New Zealand in a five match series.

The chairman of selectors Andrew Hilditch says the one day side has enjoyed virtually unparalleled success over the last 10 months with series wins in the UAE, England, at the ICC Champions Trophy in South Africa, in India and the two home series against Pakistan and the West Indies.

He says the selection of the one-day squad for New Zealand acknowledges that success.

The squad for the two-Test series against New Zealand, starting on March 19 in Wellington, will be announced at a later date.

Meanwhile spinner Nathan Hauritz has been given a chance to earn a spot in Australia's World Twenty20 Championship team after being named in a 15-strong squad for the tour of New Zealand.

Hauritz joins the 14 players already selected for the two Twenty20 matches against the West Indies on Sunday in Hobart and on Tuesday in Sydney.

Australia one-day squad: Ricky Ponting (capt), Michael Clarke (vice-capt), Doug Bollinger, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Ryan Harris, James Hopes, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Clint McKay, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

Australia Twenty20 squad: Michael Clarke (capt), Cameron White (vice-capt), Travis Birt, Daniel Christian, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Nathan Hauritz, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Dirk Nannes, Steven Smith, Shaun Tait, David Warner, Shane Watson.