29 Jun 2016

Draw made for Rio Sevens

7:07 am on 29 June 2016

The New Zealand men's rugby sevens team has been drawn with Great Britain, Kenya and Japan in their pool for the Rio Olympics.

All Black Sevens.

All Black Sevens. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The New Zealand women will play France, Spain and Kenya in their pool.

The announcement was made in the host city following the women's global repechage tournament which delivered the final qualifier for what will be the first time in 92 years that rugby has featured on sport's biggest stage.

The 12-team womens competiton will run from August 6th to 8th with Australia top seeds, followed by New Zealand and Canada.

In New Zealand's pool France are seeded fifth, Spain eighth and Kenya 11th.

In the men's competition, which runs from August 9th to 11th, favourites Fiji have been drawn in Pool A with defending Olympic champions USA, as well as South American rivals Argentina and Brazil.

Pool B is another tough group, which includes South Africa, Australia, France and Spain, while it doesn't get any less competitive in Pool C as New Zealand will play Great Britain, Kenya and Japan.

Great Britain are seeded four, kenya nine and Japan 10.

In both competitions, the top two teams from each pool, plus the two best third-placed sides, progress to the quarter-finals.

Women's - 6-8 August (seeding in brackets)

Pool A: Australia (one), USA (six), Fiji (seven), Colombia (12)

Pool B: New Zealand (two), France (five), Spain (eight), Kenya (11)

Pool C: Canada (three), Great Britain (four), Brazil (nine), Japan (10)

Men's - 9-11 August (seeding in brackets)

Pool A: Fiji (one), USA (six), Argentina (seven), Brazil (12)

Pool B: South Africa (two), Australia (five), France (eight), Spain (11)

Pool C: New Zealand (three), Great Britain (four), Kenya (nine), Japan (10)