23 Jun 2016

Two changes to Wales lineup

7:26 am on 23 June 2016

Wales have made two changes in the front row for Saturday's third and final Test against the All Blacks in Dunedin.

Welsh halfback Rhys Webb.

Welsh halfback Rhys Webb. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Rob Evans replaces Gethin Jenkins at loose-head with Jenkins returning to the UK earlier this week following a calf injury.

Tomas Francis, who has come off the bench in both the first two test matches starts at tight-head with Samson Lee taking his place amongst the replacements.

The rest of the pack is unchanged from the second test in Wellington with Luke Charteris and Alun Wyn Jones in the second-row and Ross Moriarty, captain Sam Warburton (50th match as an international captain, Wales (48) Lions (2)) and Taulupe Faletau comprising the back-row.

Wales have named the same backline for the third test with Ospreys duo Rhys Webb and Dan Biggar at half-back and Jamie Roberts partnering Jonathan Davies in midfield. Hallam Amos, Liam Williams and Rhys Patchell make up the back-three.

"We have played some good rugby in the first two tests and we want to finish the tour on Saturday with an 80 minute performance that we are happy with," said Wales Head Coach Warren Gatland.

"We improved going into the second test and fought to the end and this weekend we have to have the belief and confidence that we can take the victory.

"Playing under the rood in Dunedin will be a great atmosphere and a quick track and we need to take our game to the All Blacks."

On the bench Aaron Jarvis and Samson Lee join Scott Baldwin as the front-row cover with Jake Ball and Ellis Jenkins completing the forward contingent. Gareth Davies, Rhys Priestland and Scott Williams are named as the backline cover.


Rhys Patchell (Cardiff Blues), Liam Williams (Scarlets), Jonathan Davies (Clermont Auvergne), Jamie Roberts (Harlequins), Hallam Amos (Newport Gwent Dragons), Dan Biggar (Ospreys), Rhys Webb (Ospreys), Rob Evans (Scarlets), Ken Owens (Scarlets), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs), Luke Charteris (Racing 92), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Ross Moriarty (Gloucester), Sam Warburton (Cardiff Blues, CAPT), Taulupe Faletau (Newport Gwent Dragons).

Replacements: Scott Baldwin (Ospreys), Aaron Jarvis (Ospreys), Samson Lee (Scarlets), Jake Ball (Scarlets), Ellis Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Davies (Scarlets), Rhys Priestland (Bath Rugby), Scott Williams (Scarlets).