5 Apr 2016

Five NZ cricketers named in T20 tournament teams

8:18 am on 5 April 2016

Five New Zealand cricketers have been named in the men's and women's Twenty20 World Cup tournament teams.

The Black Caps reached the semi-finals of the tournament but only spinner Mitchell Santner made the men's side, while White Ferns captain and opening bat Suzie Bates, along with all-rounder Sophie Devine, wicketkeeper Rachel Priest and bowler Leigh Kasperek make the women's eleven.

Black Caps left-arm spinner Michell Santner.

Mitchell Santner Photo: Photosport

The teams were chosen by a select group of former international players and commentators who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament.

Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

Suzie Bates celebrates 50 runs during the T20 International vs Australia in Wellington.

Suzie Bates celebrates 50 runs during the T20 International vs Australia in Wellington. Photo: Photosport

The West Indies, who won both the men's and the women's titles, provided only two players in each side.

Andre Russell and Samuel Badree, while Stafanie Taylor and Deandra Dottin are in the women's team.

The experts chose India's Virat Kohli as captain of the men's side while Stafanie Taylor of the West Indies was named to lead the women's line-up.

Both teams include the respective players of the tournament, Virat Kohli of India and Taylor of the West Indies.

The two teams are (in batting order):


1. Jason Roy (England)

2. Quinton de Kock (South Africa, wicketkeeper)

3. Virat Kohli (India, captain)

4. Joe Root (England)

5. Jos Buttler (England)

6. Shane Watson (Australia)

7. Andre Russell (West Indies)

8. Mitchell Santner (New Zealand)

9. David Willey (England)

10. Samuel Badree (West Indies)

11. Ashish Nehra (India)

12th man. Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)


1. Suzie Bates (New Zealand)

2. Charlotte Edwards (England)

3. Meg Lanning (Australia)

4. Stafanie Taylor (West Indies, captain)

5. Sophie Devine (New Zealand)

6. Rachel Priest (New Zealand, wicketkeeper)

7. Deandra Dottin (West Indies)

8. Megan Schutt (Australia)

9. Sune Luus (South Africa)

10. Leigh Kasperek (New Zealand)

11. Anya Shrubsole (England)

12th player. Anam Amin (Pakistan)

Meanwhile World T20 champions the West Indies have leap-frogged New Zealand to go number two in the ICC rankings, just a point behind leaders India.

India's Virat Kohli remains the number one batsman and the West Indies Samuel Badree the number one bowler.

Martin Guptil is the best placed New Zealand batsman at three with Kane Williamson six.

Adam Milne is the best placed bowler at number six.