13 Mar 2016

Schweitzer takes 2nd leg of Ultimate Waterman

7:41 pm on 13 March 2016

The Hawaiian athlete, Zane Schweitzer, has won the Prone Paddleboard leg of the Ultimate Waterman at Piha.

Zane Schweitzer paddles to victory

Zane Schweitzer paddles to victory Photo: The Ultimate Waterman

The 6km race was the second of eight disciplines in the competition which finsihes on the 20th of March.

The 22-year old from the island of Maui, maintained his place at the front of the leading pack before breaking away on the final lap to take the win by 2:36 minutes in a time of 41:58.

After two events, Schweitzer has now jumped to third place on the overall rankings behind Danny Ching (USA) who won the Outrigger Canoe Race.

Schweitzer was charged full of energy after the race.

"This race was way more fun than yesterday, today is a race of technique and ocean awareness, reading the ocean and choosing the right path," Schweitzer said after the race.

"I am super stoked to come out on top, this result will play a huge role in my overall result. Plus I learnt a lot, it was a blast!" Schweitzer said.

Sunday race runner-up was double whammy for surfer Mark Visser who targeted this event to receive double points.

Visser was in the leading pack for the entire race before Schweitzer pulled away for the win.

Visser now sits in second place on the overall rankings.

Placing fourth was Brazilian Caio Vaz who had another battle with the defending champion from New Zealand's Daniel Kereopa.

The focus of the competition now turns to wave riding with the shortboard, longboard, standup paddle surf and big wave surfing disciplines scheduled to run.

Official Results - 6km Prone Paddleboard

1st - Zane Schweitzer 41:58

2nd Mark Visser 44:34

3rd Danny Ching 45:02

4th Caio Vaz 45:59

5th Daniel Kereopa 46:01

6th Manoa Drollet 46:07

7th Connor Baxter 52:25

8th Kala Alexander 57:14

Overall Results (after 2/8 disciplines)

1st Danny Ching (USA)*, 2730

2nd Mark Visser (AUS)*, 2450

3rd Zane Schweitzer (HAW), 1670

4th Connor Baxter (HAW), 1388

5th Caio Vaz (BRA), 1198

6th Daniel Kereopa (NZL), 1166

7th Manoa Drollet (TAH), 1110

8th Kala Alexander (HAW), 950