23 Jan 2016

Taylor ruled out, Munro in ODI squad

4:50 pm on 23 January 2016

Veteran New Zealand batsman Ross Taylor has been ruled out of both the upcoming one day cricket series against Pakistan and Australia, after suffering an oblique left sidestrain while batting in the Twenty20 series-sealing victory on Friday night in Wellington.

Taylor will leave the squad to begin rehabilitation and continue to be monitored.

Ross Taylor batting briefly in the T20 series sealer vs Pakistan

Ross Taylor batting briefly in the T20 series sealer vs Pakistan Photo: Photosport

Colin Munro comes into the one day squad to take on Pakistan in the three-match series beginning on Monday at the Basin Reserve.

Wicket-keeper Luke Ronchi will play the opening ODI, before being replaced by BJ Watling for the following two matches.

Brendon McCullum is targeting a return to the side for the third ODI, while Tim Southee won't feature as he continues his recovery from a foot injury.

Coach Mike Hesson was pleased with the experience and balance the squad offered.

"Colin was impressive with the bat during the recent Twenty20 series, but he's also selected on his ability to give us another option with the ball," said Hesson.

Colin Munro

Colin Munro Photo: Photosport

"With Grant and Corey coming back into the squad, our middle-order has a lot of experience and looks similar to the one we took into last year's World Cup.

"We've talked about the importance of creating depth in all positions and bringing BJ into the side for the second and third ODI will give him some time against the white ball. It also gives Luke a week off ahead of a busy upcoming schedule."

"With the pitches we're playing on we've opted for the one spin option. It gives Mitch Santner more responsibility as he'll likely be asked to bowl more overs, which will be a good opportunity for his development.

"Obviously Grant (Elliott) and Corey (Anderson) are also options for us with the ball, so we feel like we've got out bases covered."

New Zealand ODI squad v Pakistan:

Corey Anderson

Trent Boult

Grant Elliott

Martin Guptill

Matt Henry

Tom Latham (first two ODIs)

Brendon McCullum (third ODI)

Mitchell McClenaghan

Adam Milne

Colin Munro

Henry Nicholls

Luke Ronchi (first ODI)

Mitchell Santner

BJ Watling (second and third ODI)

Kane Williamson

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.