5 Dec 2015

Boult makes ICC Test and ODI team

2:24 pm on 5 December 2015

The New Zealand pace bowler Trent Boult has made the International Cricket Council's Test and one-day international teams of the year.

The Black Caps bowler Trent Boult in action.

The Black Caps bowler Trent Boult in action. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

But the Black Caps batting star Kane Williamson was left out of the one day side despite being the leading run-scorer in the qualification period.

Boult and the Australian captain Steve Smith are the only players to make both teams.

Ross Taylor makes the ODI team.

South Africa, currently the top-ranked Test team, had no representative in the Test squad, captained by England's skipper Alastair Cook, while South Africa's AB de Villiers was put in charge of the one-day team by a special panel headed by the former India captain Anil Kumble.

The qualification period ran from September 18th 2014 to September 13th 2015 and the selection panel included past greats of the world game including former West Indies fast bowler Ian Bishop, ex England batsman Mark Butcher, former Australia women's captain Belinda Clark and Mr. G. Viswanath, Deputy Editor of The Hindu & Sportstar.

The winners of the individual awards will be announced later this month.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2015 (in batting order):

David Warner (Aus)

Alastair Cook (Eng) (captain)

Kane Williamson (NZ)

Younis Khan (Pak)

Steven Smith (Aus)

Joe Root (Eng)

Sarfraz Ahmed (Pak) (wicketkeeper)

Stuart Broad (Eng)

Trent Boult (NZ)

Yasir Shah (Pak)

Josh Hazlewood (Aus)

12th: Ravichandran Ashwin (Ind)

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2015 (in batting order):

Tillakaratne Dilshan (SL)

Hashim Amla (SA)

Kumar Sangakkara (SL) (wicketkeeper)

AB de Villiers (SA) (captain)

Steven Smith (Aus)

Ross Taylor (NZ)

Trent Boult (NZ)

Mohammed Shami (Ind)

Mitchell Starc (Aus)

Mustafizur Rahman (Bang)

Imran Tahir (SA)

12th: Joe Root (Eng)