31 Aug 2015

NZ rowers make soild start at World Champs

7:49 am on 31 August 2015

The New Zealand crews made a strong start on day one of heats at the 2015 World Rowing Championships in Aiguebelette, France.

New Zealand's Mahe Drysdale at the World Rowing Championships at Lake Aiguebelette, France, 2015.

New Zealand's Mahe Drysdale at the World Rowing Championships at Lake Aiguebelette, France, 2015. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The warm temperatures and light tail winds produced perfect rowing conditions on the first days of competition with three New Zealand crews qualifying for the semi-finals, six crews progressing to the quarter-finals and the men's four heading to a repechage.

The lightweight men's and women's singles kicked off the regatta for New Zealand by both winning their heats.

Adam Ling won his heat by three seconds to progress to the quarter finals while Zoe McBride also came first in her heat to seal a spot in the semi-finals.

Both the men's and women's coxless pairs cruised through day one with Kerri Gowler and Grace Prendergast winning their heat and progress to the semi-finals while the Olympic and World Champion men's pair of Eric Murray and Hamish Bond won their heat to progress to the quarter-finals.

The lightweight men's double of Peter Taylor and Hayden Cohen finished third to secure their spot in the quarter-finals.

Sophie Mackenzie and Julia Edward finished a close second behind Denmark in the lightweight women's double ensuring they also move through to the quarter-finals.

In the men's four there was only one semi-finals spot up for grabs and with their fourth placing the New Zealand crew will contest the repechage.

Olympic champion Mahe Drysdale produced a quick time of 6:49.05 in the men's single and progressed through to the quarter-finals untroubled.

Women's single sculler Fiona Bourke made a promising start to her world champs campaign finishing a clear third and qualifying for the quarter-finals.

The remaining New Zealand crews of the women's quad, the men's and women's double, the lightweight men's four and the men's and women's eight will race their heats tonight with the first race kicking off at 9:35pm NZ time.