27 Apr 2015

Kiwis squad for Kangaroos test

2:47 pm on 27 April 2015

Four players have forced their way back into contention for the Kiwis rugby league test against the Australia in Brisbane on Friday, after missing last year's Four Nations success.

Coach Stephen Kearney has named his 18 players to prepare for the one-off Test with Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Dallin Watene-Zelzniak, Ben Matulino and Sam Moa returning to the fold.

Tuivasa-Sheck was unavailable for the end of season internationals, but has been in good form at fullback for the Sydney Roosters in the NRL.

The Roosters fullback Roger Tuivasa-Scheck in action.

The Roosters fullback Roger Tuivasa-Scheck in action. Photo: Photosport

Watene-Zelezniak was picked to make his Kiwis debut on the wing in the Four Nations opener, but broke a bone in his foot during the team's build-up for that match and could play no further part in the tournament.

A variety of injuries kept Matulino out of the Kiwis programme last year, while Moa withdrew from Four Nations consideration due to family illness.

"All of these players have been in good form so far this season and really put their hands up for inclusion in this ANZAC Test side," said Kearney.

"It's a sign that we are developing some great young talent and good depth in certain positions."

Kiwis coach Stephen Kearney

Kiwis coach Stephen Kearney Photo: PHOTOSPORT

But the group has also suffered a couple of setbacks over the weekend, with Dean Whare and Jason Taumalolo unavailable through injury.

Whare has nursed a hamstring strain for several weeks and could not take the field for Penrith Panthers, while Taumalolo left the field early in North Queensland's win over Newcastle yesterday with a knee injury.

"It's disappointing to lose those lads, but that's the nature of the game sometimes... we believe this team is capable of a job for us this week and it's also an opportunity to take another step towards our ultimate goal - the 2017 World Cup," said Kearney.

New Zealand:

Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm), Lewis Brown (Penrith Panthers), Greg Eastwood (Canterbury Bulldogs), Kieran Foran (Manly Sea Eagles), Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm), Peta Hiku (Manly Sea Eagles), Shaun Johnson (NZ Warriors), Shaun Kenny-Dowall (Sydney Roosters), Thomas Leuluai (NZ Warriors), Issac Luke (South Sydney Rabbitohs), Simon Mannering (NZ Warriors), Ben Matulino (ZN Warriors), Sam Moa (Sydney Roosters), Kevin Proctor (Melbourne Storm), Matin Taupau (Wests Tigers), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters), Manu Vatuvei (NZ Warriors) and Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith Panthers)