18 Jan 2015

Waikato, Auckland win national sevens titles

7:48 pm on 18 January 2015

Waikato have unseated Wellington as the national men's rugby sevens champions with a 38-19 win in the final in Rotorua.

Waikato's Dylan Collier breaks a tackle.

Waikato's Dylan Collier breaks a tackle. Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Wellington led 12-0 before Waikato mounted a comeback with a double from Luke Masirewa giving them the half-time lead.

They then ran away with it in the second half scoring four tries to one in the second half.

Auckland defeated last year's champions Manawatu to win the women's title, with the player of the tournament Kayla McAlister scoring two tries in the 29-14 win.