11 Jan 2015

Clarke named in Australia World Cup squad

1:15 pm on 11 January 2015

Captain Michael Clarke has been included in Australia's 15-man squad for the Cricket World Cup but will be replaced if he can't prove his fitness by the cut-off date.

Australia captain Michael Clarke has been at Phil Hughes' bedside.

Australia captain Michael Clarke Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Clarke, who missed the final three Tests against India due to hamstring surgery, has been given until February 21 to prove he's fit for the one-day tournament.

Chief selector Rod Marsh says Clarke will be replaced if the 33-year-old is not ready to go for the side's second match of the tournament against Bangladesh in Brisbane.

He says medical staff are pleased with Clark's progress following hamstring surgery in December.

Mitch Marsh, who missed recent Tests at the MCG and SCG due to a hamstring strain, was also named in a squad that contained few surprises.

Allrounders Marsh, Shane Watson and James Faulkner were all automatic selections, while Glenn Maxwell is likely to be given a chance to shine in Australia's XI.

Xavier Doherty was picked as the sole tweaker, with Maxwell expected to provide the side's spin in most games.

Mitchell Johnson, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood will make up Australia's pace attack.

Brad Haddin will keep wickets, while David Warner and Aaron Finch will open the batting for the co-hosts.

Batsmen Steve Smith, in the form of his life after scoring 769 runs in the four-Test series against India, and George Bailey round out the squad.

Bailey remains vice-captain of the one-day side and will lead Australia if Clarke fails to play in the tournament.

Australia relinquished the World Cup in 2011 when they lost to eventual winners India in a quarter-final.

Australia's World Cup squad: David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Steve Smith, Michael Clarke (capt), George Bailey (vice-capt), Glenn Maxwell, Mitch Marsh, James Faulkner, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Xavier Doherty.