16 Dec 2014

Smith to take Clarke's spot

4:24 pm on 16 December 2014

Australia have made three changes to their team for the second cricket test against India starting in Brisbane tomorrow.

Steve Smith

Steve Smith Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Shaun Marsh will replace Australia's injured captain Michael Clarke in the batting lineup, while Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc came in for fast bowlers Ryan Harris and Peter Siddle.

Harris was ruled out with a slight strain to his quadriceps while Siddle was dropped from the team that won the first test in Adelaide by 48 runs.

Marsh rejoined the test team for the first time since February and will bat at five, with new captain Steve Smith moving up the order to take Clarke's spot at four.

Australia: David Warner, Chris Rogers, Shane Watson, Steve Smith (captain), Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Brad Haddin, Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs

We have regular online commentary of local and international sport.