3 Dec 2014

Two NZ umpires to officiate at World Cup

2:46 pm on 3 December 2014

Two New Zealand umpires have been included in the list of IFF officials to control the Cricket World Cup matches in New Zealand and Australia this summer.

Billy Bowden is part of the elite panel, while Chris Gaffaney is on the international panel.

NZ Cricket umpire Billy Bowden

NZ Cricket umpire Billy Bowden Photo: Photosport

Jeff Crowe is one of the five match referees named.

The match referees are: David Boon, Chris Broad, Jeff Crowe, Ranjan Madugalle and Roshan Mahanama.

The elite panel umpires are: Aleem Dar, Billy Bowden, Bruce Oxenford, Ian Gould, Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Nigel Llong, Paul Reiffel, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Rod Tucker and Steve Davis.

The international panel umpires are: Johan Cloete, Simon Fry, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Ranmore Martinesz, Ruchira Palliyaguru, S.Ravi and Joel Wilson.

The eight umpires from the international panel have been identified as emerging and talented match officials, who have already officiated at international level.

There are four World Cup winners in the line-up: Boon, Dharmasena, Mahanama and Reiffel.

Boon was part of Allan Border's side that triumphed in Kolkata in the ICC Cricket World Cup 1987 final, Dharmasena and Mahanama played in the ICC Cricket World Cup 1996 final in Lahore and Reiffel represented Australia at Lord's in the ICC Cricket World Cup 1999 final.

In addition to the four, Crowe represented New Zealand in the 1983 and 1987 ICC Cricket World Cups, Broad featured in three matches of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1987, Illingworth participated in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup 1992 in Melbourne as well as in the ICC Cricket World Cup 1996 and Madugalle played in three ICC Cricket World Cups - 1979, 1983 and 1987.

Match appointments will be announced closer to the warm-up matches.