25 Oct 2014

Turbos win Championship final

7:17 am on 25 October 2014

Manawatu have scored two very late tries to beat Hawke's Bay 32-24 in the provincial rugby Championship final in Palmerston North, earning the Turbos promotion to the top-tier Premiership next season.

Manawatu are the new ITM Cup Championship winners

Manawatu are the new ITM Cup Championship winners Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Manawatu trailed until the final four minutes, when they scored the match-winners in the 76th and 80th minutes.

It's the first title for the Turbos in 34 years - while it's the second consecutive year of heartbreak for Hawke's Bay.

The Magpies lost the same match last season to Tasman, who play tonight's Premiership final in Taranaki.

Still, Hawke's Bay can console themselves with some silverware, after winning and retaining the Ranfurly Shield and locking it away for the summer.

Manawatu celebrate the win

Manawatu celebrate the win Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The game was also the 100th for Manawatu's stalwart hooker Rob Foreman, who had to leave the field with injury in the first half.