28 Sep 2014

Hawks win 12th AFL flag

8:55 am on 28 September 2014

Hawthorn have run away with the Australian Rules grand final, the Hawks thrashing the Sydney Swans by 63 points at the Melbourne Cricket Ground to confirm they are one of the game's all-time great teams.

An AFL referee in action

An AFL referee in action Photo: PHOTOSPORT

The Hawks unleashed their most unsociable football on Saturday to blow away the Swans 21.11 (137) to 11.8 (74) .

It is Hawthorn's 12th Premiership and their first back-to-back flags in 25 years.

They are also the first team since Brisbane's 2001-03 three-peat to win consecutive flags.

Coupled with their 2008 success, Hawthorn join the Lions and Geelong as the only teams to win three Premierships this century.