19 Sep 2014

Six players added to Kiwis squad

12:02 pm on 19 September 2014

Six players have been added to the extended New Zealand Kiwis squad after the weekend's round of National Rugby League playoff matches.

Kiwi rugby league player Jesse Bromwich

Kiwi rugby league player Jesse Bromwich Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Kiwis coach Stephen Kearney has added Josh Hoffman and Alex Glenn from the Brisbane Broncos to his training group, along with Kevin Proctor, Tohu Harris, and the Bromwich brothers - Jesse and Kenny - from the Melbourne Storm.

Kiwis coach Stephen Kearney

Kiwis coach Stephen Kearney Photo: PHOTOSPORT

Their inclusion brings the squad to 26, with several more candidates still alive in the competition finals and yet to be named.

Cronulla Sharks wing Valentine Holmes, named last week, has withdrawn from consideration to chase his fortunes with the Junior Kangaroos.

The final selections for next month's Four Nations tournament will be made after the NRL Grand Final on October 5th.

The Kiwis begin their campaign against Australia at Brisbane's Suncorp Stadium on October 25th.

Train-on squad (so far):

Gerard Beale (St George Dragons), Adam Blair (Wests Tigers), Jesse Bromwich, Kenny Bromwich, Fa'amanu Brown (Cronulla Sharks), Sosaia Feki (Cronulla Sharks), David Fusitua (Warriors), Glenn, Harris, Siliva Havili (Warriors), Hoffman, Konrad Hurrell (Warriors), Shaun Johnson (Warriors), Ngani Laumape (Warriors), Thomas Leuluai (Warriors), Simon Mannering (Warriors), Suaia Matagi (Vodafone Warriors), Ben Matulino (Warriors), Matt McIlwrick (Canberra Raiders), Jason Nightingale (St George Dragons), Proctor, Sauaso Sue (Wests Tigers), Brad Takairangi (Gold Coast Titans), Martin Taupau (Wests Tigers), Bodene Thompson (Wests Tigers), Manu Vatuvei (Warriors)

Meanwhile Joseph Manu, Taane Milne, Braden Uele (Sydney Roosters), Sam Manuleleua and Tulsa Saumamao (South Sydney Rabbitohs) join the Junior Kiwis group, preparing for their Test against the Junior Kangaroos on October 18th.

Junior Kiwis:

Nelson Asofa-Solomona (Melbourne Storm), Herman Ese'ese (Canterbury Bulldogs), Jahrome Hughes (Gold Coast Titans), Sione Katoa (Penrith Panthers), Manu, Manuleleua, Milne, Una Mohi (Melbourne Storm), Niua Puaka (Melbourne Storm), Saumamao, Renouf To'omaga (Canterbury Bulldogs), Uele