25 Jul 2014

Auckland ITM Cup team named

5:19 am on 25 July 2014

Auckland's head coach Paul Feeney named its squad for the upcoming national provincial rugby competition, the ITM Cup.

Feeney has been able to name seven current All Blacks in the 34-man squad, which features eight debutants, who Feeney says have all impressed at club level this season.

Gareth Anscombe and Ben Lam return after sitting out the 2013 season through injury and will be joined in the backline by Francis Saili who last played for Auckland in 2011.

The Chiefs' Nick Barrett joins the squad from Southland, while Fraser Armstrong joins from Waikato.

Not considered due to injury were Luke Braid and Sean Brookman.

The team assemble next week ahead of a pre-season game against Northland next Friday.


Props: Charlie Faumuina (Papatoetoe - Papatoetoe College), Sam Prattley (Pakuranga - Nelson College), Ofa Tu'ungafasi (Grammar TEC - Mangere College), Nic Barrett (Central Southland College), Fraser Armstrong (Pakuranga - Hamilton Boys High School)

Hookers: Keven Mealamu (Papatoetoe - Aorere College), Tom McCartney (Pakuranga - Howick College), Gafatasi Su'a (Ponsonby - Mt Albert Grammar)

Locks: Patrick Tuipulotu (Ponsonby - St Peters), Liaki Moli (Manukau Rovers - St Pauls), Jack Whetton (Grammar TEC - Rosmini College), Scott Scrafton (Grammar TEC - St Kentigerns), William Lloyd (Marist - Orewa College)

Loose forwards: Jerome Kaino (University - St Kentigerns), Steven Luatua (University - Mt Albert Grammar), Joe Edwards (Pakuranga - St Kentigerns), Airi Hunt (Waitemata), Peter Saili (Marist - St Peters), Sean Polwart (University - Sacred Heart), Nepia Fox-Matamua (University - St Peters), Blake Gibson (University - St Kentigerns)

Halfbacks: Wayne Ngaluafe (Ponsonby - Kelston Boys), Leon Fukofuka (Marist - Kelston Boys)

First five eighths: Simon Hickey (Grammar TEC - Kings), Gareth Anscombe (Ponsonby - Rosmini)

Midfielders: Malakai Fekitoa (Pakuranga - Wesley College), Francis Saili (Marist - St Peters), Hadleigh Parkes (Grammar TEC - Palmerston North Boys), George Moala (Grammar TEC - Tamaki College), TJ Faiane (Pakuranga - St Kentigerns)

Outside backs: Charles Piutau (Pakuranga - Wesley College), Ben Lam (Grammar TEC - St Peters), Lolagi Visinia (Suburbs - Kelston Boys), Vince Aso (Ponsonby - St Peters)