29 May 2014

Seven NZ boxers named for Commonwealth Games

5:58 pm on 29 May 2014

Seven New Zealand boxers have been selected to compete at next month's Commonwealth Games, including two women who will fight in the inaugural women's competition.

Olympian Alexis Pritchard will compete in the lightweight division and 20-year-old Magan Maka in the middleweight division.

The rest of the team is super heavyweight Patrick Mailata, heavyweight David Light, welterweight Bowyn Morgan, light welterweight Leroy Hindley and lightweight Chad Milnes.

New Zealand has won 30 medals in Commonwealth Boxing including five gold medals, the last gold was won by Michael Kenny in the 91-kilogramme heavy weight class at the Auckland games in 1990.

The last medals won by New Zealand in boxing were two bronze medals at Manchester 2002 won in the 69-kilos men by Daniel Codling and the 91-kilos by Shane Cameron.

Additional athletes may be selected to the boxing team pending results from this weekend's Golden Gloves event in Taupo.