28 Apr 2014

Six new Kiwis for Anzac Test

6:39 am on 28 April 2014

The coach of the New Zealand rugby league team Stephen Kearney has named six newcomers in his national team to face Australia in next Friday's Anzac Test at Sydney.

Fullback Peta Hiku, five-eighths Isaac John, utility Ben Henry, hooker Siliva Havili, and props Martin Taupau and Kenny Bromwich will join the national team for the first time.

Bromwich will join older brother Jesse in the 18-man squad, the first set of siblings to be named in the Kiwis since Jason and Nathan Cayless in 2006.

The full Kiwis squad is:

Gerard Beale, (St George-Illawarra Dragons), Adam Blair (Wests Tigers), Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm), Kenneath Bronwich (Melbourne Storm), Greg Eastwood (Canterbury Bulldogs), Tohu Harris (Melbourne Storm), Siliva Havili (NZ Warriors), Ben Henry (NZ Warriors), Peta Hiku (Manly Sea Eagles), Isaac John (Penrith Panthers), Shaun Johnson (NZ Warriors), Simon Mannering (NZ Warriors), Sam Moa (Sydney Roosters), Jason Nightingale (St George-Illawarra Dragons), Kevin Proctor (Melbourne Storm), Martin Taupau (Wests Tigers), Roger Tuivasa-Sheck (Sydney Roosters), Dean Whare (Penrith Panthers)

Only five players, Mannering, Tuivasa-Sheck, Whare, Johnson, Moa and Bromwich, have returned from the side that lost to the Kangaroos in last year's World Cup final.