14 Mar 2014

Sprinters impress at Track Cycle Nationals

5:41 pm on 14 March 2014

World champions Sam Webster and Eddie Dawkins have just missed out on breaking the 10-second barrier in sprint qualifying at the National Track Cycling Championships in Cambridge.

Dawkins, who became the first New Zealander to go under the mark in this country late last year, recorded a time of 10.08 seconds, however defending champion Webster went .014 of a second quicker.

The pair were part of the team sprint that won the world title at Colombia 10 days ago.

Matt Archibald and Simon van Velthooven were the other two to qualify for Friday night's semi-finals.