30 Jan 2014

New qualification system for women's cricket

5:29 pm on 30 January 2014

A new competition to determine qualification for the next Women's World Cup has been announced by the International Cricket Council.

The top eight ranked teams; England, Australia, West Indies, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa, India and Pakistan will play each other in a series of matches between mid-2014 and the end of 2016, with the top six qualifying automatically for the 2017 Women's World Cup in England.

The bottom countries will be joined by a number of teams from other regions to play in a Women's World Cup qualifier to determine the final participants.