4 Aug 2013

One new face in All Blacks

12:23 pm on 4 August 2013

The Hurricanes halfback TJ Perenara is the only new All Black in the 28 man squad named today for this year's Rugby Championship.

Perenara comes into the side at the expense of the veteran Piri Weepu who's been dropped from the national team after first appearing for the All Blacks in 2004.

The other surprise omission from the squad is the Hurricanes loose forward Victor Vito.

The Hurricane Jeremy Thrush and the Blues players Francis Saili and and Frank Halai have been named in a wider training group, while the Crusaders prop Joe Moody will provide cover for the injured Wyatt Crockett.

Richie McCaw, who recently returned to rugby after an extended break from the game, will captain the side.

The All Blacks' first game in the Rugby Championship is against Australia in Sydney on August 17.


Hookers Dane Coles, Andrew Hore, Keven Mealamu

Props Wyatt Crockett, Charlie Faumuina, Ben Franks, Owen Franks, Tony Woodcock

Locks Brodie Retallick, Luke Romano, Samuel Whitelock

Loose forwards Sam Cane, Steven Luatua, Richie McCaw, Liam Messam, Kieran Read


Halfbacks Tawera Kerr-Barlow, TJ Perenara, Aaron Smith

First five-eighths Beauden Barrett, Daniel Carter, Aaron Cruden

Midfield backs Ma'a Nonu, Conrad Smith

Outside backs Israel Dagg, Charles Piutau, Julian Savea, Ben Smith