2 Jul 2013

New Zealanders win sevens awards

6:10 am on 2 July 2013

A day after winning World Cup titles, New Zealand players have scooped the IRB Sevens Player of the Year awards.

Tim Mikkelson won the men's award from England's Dan Norton and Fiji's Joji Raqamate.... becoming the fifth New Zealander to win the award in its 10 year history.

He follows in the footsteps of countrymen Orene Ai'i (2005), Afeleke Pelenise (2007), DJ Forbes (2008) and Tomasi Cama (2012).

Kayla McAlister won the inaugural Women's Sevens Player of the Year award.

McAlister saw off the challenge of Canada's Jennifer Kish and Netherlands' Kelly van Harskamp.

Sister of All Black Luke McAlister, Kayla says it's an honour and priviledge to win this award and she accepts it on behalf of all of her teammates.