13 Jul 2012

Best Socceroos ever named

10:32 am on 13 July 2012

Australia's greatest ever football players have been named with Harry Kewell awarded the top honour at a gala ceremony in Sydney.

Following a long-running process involving fans, players and pundits, the Greatest Ever Australian Footballer awards also named the nation's greatest players by position.

Current No.1 Mark Schwarzer was named Australia's best goalkeeper while captain Lucas Neill, Everton star Tim Cahill and retired defender Craig Moore were also named in the greatest side.

All featured at the last two FIFA World Cup finals while Mark Viduka, who competed at the 2006 World Cup in Germany, was also included.

The late Johnny Warren, striker Ray Baartz, Alan Davidson, Ned Zelic and Joe Marston - the first Australian to compete in an FA Cup final - were also in the team but there were no members that represented the Socceroos prior to 1947.