21 Jun 2012

McGlinchey rounds out senior trio for Oly Whites side

4:45 pm on 21 June 2012

New Zealand Football has named captain Ryan Nelsen, striker Shane Smeltz and midfielder Michael McGlinchey as the three overage players headlining the 18-man men's Oly Whites squad for the upcoming London Olympic Games.

Defender Winston Reid pulled out of contention yesterday to concentrate on his English club West Ham's pre-season, as the Hammers prepare for their return to the Premier League.

New Zealand coach Neil Emblen has been able to name 13 players with full international caps, including established All Whites Tommy Smith and Chris Wood along with Kosta Barbarouses, Marco Rojas and Jake Gleeson who have been regular inclusions in squads over recent seasons.

England-based Cameron Howieson and Tim Payne as well as NZ Premiership trio Ian Hogg, Adam McGeorge and Tim Myers all recently made their senior All Whites debuts with the squad rounded out by American-based goalkeeper Michael O'Keeffe, and promising local talent including James Musa and Dakota Lucas from Team Wellington, Alex Feneridis from Auckland City and Adam Thomas from Waikato FC.

Ian Hogg and Nelsen are the only returnees from the squad that travelled to Beijing in 2008.

The Football Ferns squad for the Olympics will be announced at the end of June..

New Zealand Olympic men's football team:

Goalkeepers: Jake Gleeson (Portland Timbers, USA), Michael O'Keeffe (Fairfield University, USA)

Defenders: Ryan Nelsen (Captain, Queen's Park Rangers, England), Ian Hogg (Auckland City), Tim Myers (Waitakere United), Tommy Smith (Ipswich Town, England), Adam Thomas (Waikato FC), James Musa (Team Wellington)

Midfielders: Tim Payne (Blackburn Rovers, England), Michael Mcglinchey (Central Coast Mariners, Australia), Alex Feneridis (Auckland City), Cameron Howieson (Burnley, England), Adam Mcgeorge (Auckland City), Forwards: Kosta Barbarouses (Alania Vladikavkaz, Russia), Shane Smeltz (Perth Glory, Australia), Chris Wood (West Bromwich Albion, England), Marco Rojas (Melbourne Victory, Australia), Dakota Lucas (Sunshine Coast, Australia)

Standby: Michael Eagar (Team Wellington), Cameron Lindsay (Wellington Phoenix), Luke Rowe (Team Wellington), Scott Basalaj (Team Wellington)