4 Jun 2012

Nine uncapped players in Boks squad

12:02 pm on 4 June 2012

The Springboks have named nine uncapped players in the squad for the three-test rugby series against England.

New coach Heyneke Meyer has also included 15 players from last year's World Cup outfit in his 32-man party.

The Springboks will be without veteran duo Victor Matfield and John Smit who retired after the World Cup.

The uncapped players include giant 20-year-old second row Eben Etzebeth of the Stormers, 21-year-old first-five Elton Jantjies from the Lions and former Northampton second rower Juandre Kruger.

In addition to Smit and Matfield the Springboks are also without injured duo Schalk Burger and Juan Smith, while Meyer omitted Japan-based veteran halfback Fourie du Preez and flanker Heinrich Brussow.

Six of the group have won more than 40 caps, with winger Bryan Habana the most experienced with 74 appearances.

The other six uncapped players are Marcell Coetzee, JJ Engelbrecht, Coenie Oosthuizen, Jacques Potgieter, Franco van der Merwe and Jano Vermaak.

South Africa squad:

Backs: Zane Kirchner (Northern Bulls), JP Pietersen (Coastal Sharks), JJ Engelbrecht (Bulls), Jean de Villiers (Western Stormers), Wynand Olivier (Bulls), Francois Steyn (Sharks), Bryan Habana (Stormers), Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), Bjorn Basson (Bulls), Morne Steyn (Bulls), Patrick Lambie (Sharks), Elton Jantjies (Golden Lions), Francois Hougaard (Bulls), Jano Vermaak (Bulls), Ruan Pienaar (Ulster/IRL).

Forwards: Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Coenie Oosthuizen (Central Cheetahs), Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks), Chiliboy Ralepelle (Bulls), Adriaan Strauss (Cheetahs), Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), Werner Kruger (Bulls), Eben Etzebeth (Stormers), Flip van der Merwe (Bulls), Franco van der Merwe (Lions), Juandre Kruger (Bulls), Marcell Coetzee (Sharks), Willem Alberts (Sharks), Pierre Spies (Bulls), Ryan Kankowski (Sharks), Keegan Daniel (Sharks), Jacques Potgieter (Bulls).