26 May 2012

Shleck to be crowned winner of 2010 Tour de France

8:44 am on 26 May 2012

Andy Schleck will receive the winner's yellow jersey for the 2010 Tour de France in a ceremony in the Luxembourg town of Mondorf next Tuesday.

The younger of the Schleck brothers finished second behind Alberto Contador in the race but was declared the winner after the Spaniard was stripped of the title in February in the wake of a positive dope test.

Contador was also stripped of the 2011 Giro d'Italia and banned from cycling for two years, a ban that runs until August this year.

Schleck, 26, has finished second in each of the last three Tours de France.

Spain's Oscar Pereiro was handed the winner's yellow jersey for the 2006 Tour de France more than a year after the end of the race as American Floyd Landis had been stripped of his title for a positive dope test.