16 May 2012

Tietjens inducted into Hall of Fame

6:43 am on 16 May 2012

The New Zealand rugby sevens coach Gordon Tietjens has been inducted into the IRB Hall of Fame.

Tietjen's induction was announced just a few hours after his side won their 10th IRB series title.

Tietjens started coaching the side in 1994, in which time 37 All Blacks have passed through his tough regime..... he's also won a Rugby World Cup Sevens in 2001 and all four Commonwealth Games gold medals contested to date.

He recently signed a contract extension that will see him lead his country's men's Sevens side to the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro.

Other New Zealanders in the Hall of Fame include Sir Wilson Whineray, David Gallaher, David Kirk, Sir Brian Lochore and Jonah Lomu.

New Zealand's Tomasi Cama was also named the IRB rugby sevens player of the year.

Fijian-born Cama was up for the award for the second year running, having lost out to South Africa's Cecil Afrika last season.

Once again he has been a key factor behind New Zealand's excellence and the creative spark behind their 10th World Series success.

Cama says it's just a reward for all the hard work from the boys and without them it would have been impossible to receive the award.

He fought off stiff competition from compatriot Frank Halai and England's Mat Turner to win the coveted individual accolade.

As well as finishing the season with 34 tries, Cama's impeccable drop-kicking helped him to 390 points for the season, the leading mark.

He also ends the season second in the all time point-scoring charts with 1,627, behind only England's Ben Gollings.

Cama becomes the fourth New Zealand player to win the prize, following Orene Ai'i, Afeleke Pelenise and his captain DJ Forbes.