5 Apr 2011

Otago, Southland dairy award winners named

7:50 am on 5 April 2011

Dairy industry award winners have been named for the Otago and Southland regions.

First-time award entrants Lindsey and Clare McClintock are the Southland sharemilker/equity farmers of the year.

The farm manager title has gone to Winton contract milkers Mark and Rosie Olsen-Vetland.

John Patterson, 21, has been named the Southland Dairy Trainee of the Year.

In Otago, the sharemilker/equity farmer of the year title was won by Tim and Lorraine Johnson of Tapanui.

Scott Levings of Roxburgh has been named farm manager of the year and the Otago dairy trainee is fifth generation farmer Brendan Morrison from Clutha.

In other awards, arable farmers Eric and Maxine Watson have won the supreme title in the Canterbury Ballance Farm Environment competition.

The Watsons farm nearly 500 hectares east of Ashburton and judges say they are well on their way to becoming one of the country's best arable operations.

The Watsons bought their farm in 1992 and grow a wide range of crops for seed production, including cereals, grasses, vegetables and pulses.