24 Nov 2015

Fonterra chairman re-elected

11:05 am on 24 November 2015

Fonterra shareholders have re-elected chairman John Wilson and Director Nicola Shadbolt to the board.

Fonterra chairman John Wilson

Fonterra chairman John Wilson Photo: AFP

They will be joined by new director Ashley Waugh, who farms near Te Awamutu. He is chairman of Moa Group and a director of Seeka Kiwifruit Industries and The Heat Group in Australia.

Mr Waugh is described as an experienced company director and dairy company executive, having previously worked for the New Zealand Dairy Board in a number of roles since 1991.

Current director Blue Read was not re-elected.

In the Shareholders' Council elections, two new councillors were elected - Andrew Hardie in Hawke's Bay and Sue Brown in Tasman Marlborough.

Shareholders David Gasquoine and Stephen Silcock were elected unopposed as members of the Directors' Remuneration Committee.

All successful candidates will take office at the close of the Annual Meeting on Wednesday, 25 November 2015.