31 Jan 2012

Labour and Green MPs secure select committee positions

5:28 am on 31 January 2012

MPs from the Labour and Green parties have secured leadership positions on some select committees in this term of Parliament.

National Party MPs dominate the make-up of the 16 committees named so far.

National MPs Simon Bridges, Paul Hutchison and Tim Macindoe will lead the Finance, Health and Justice select committees respectively.

Labour MPs Ruth Dyson and Charles Chauvel will chair the Government Administration and Regulations Review Select Committees.

Green Party MP Kennedy Graham is deputy-chairperson of the Foreign Affairs select committee and Eugenie Sage takes on the deputy-chair role on the Local Government and Environment Select Committee.