25 Oct 2017

New government ministers revealed

3:42 pm on 25 October 2017

The incoming Prime Minister, Jacinda Ardern, has revealed her government's new ministerial line up.

Ms Ardern last week named the Labour MPs who would become ministers, but not their portfolios.

Under its coalition deal with Labour, New Zealand First has been allocated 13 portfolios among four ministers, including regional development, defence, infrastructure and forestry.

Prime Minister elect Jacinda Ardern announcing the allocation of ministerial portfolios today.

Labour leader Jacinda Ardern reveals the full portfolio line-up. Photo: RNZ / Richard Tindiller

The Greens, meanwhile, will hold the climate change and conservation portfolios, as well as associate finance, transport and health.

Ms Ardern confirmed today that the New Zealand First leader Winston Peters will be her deputy prime minister and minister of foreign affairs.

"He brings a wealth of experience to both roles and I look forward to working closely with him."

She also announced that as well as Arts, Culture and Heritage she would take the new role of Minister for Child Poverty Reduction.

She said reducing child poverty was one of her personal priorities and one of the reasons why she entered politics.

"As Prime Minister I want to see urgent progress in this area. That is why we will be introducing measures and targets to ensure our policies across government are making a difference to the lives of children."

Along with the Corrections portfolio, Labour's deputy leader Kelvin Davis would also take a newly created role - Minister for Crown/Māori relations.

Ms Ardern said the new portfolio looks ahead to a post-Treaty of Waitangi negotiations environment.

Grant Robertson is Minister of Finance and Minister for Sport and Recreation.

New Zealand First MP Shane Jones is Minister for Regional Economic Development and also holds the forestry and infrastructure portfolios.

Ms Ardern said New Zealand First's Tracey Martin would be a strong advocate for children in her ministerial position, which also oversees Oranga Tamariki, the Ministry for Vulnerable Children.

The new Labour government will also have just one housing minister, with Phil Twyford the new Minister of Housing and Urban Development.

Ms Ardern said the portfolio had become too disparate under National, which had split the responsibilities across multiple ministers, and having a single minister would result in greater efficiencies.

Conversely, the Primary Industries portfolio would be split into the traditional Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry roles.

On the new roles, Ms Ardern said, "I am proud of my Ministers. The team well knows the responsibilities they are taking on. We are all ready and determined to make a difference as we govern for all New Zealanders."


  • Jacinda Ardern: Prime Minister, Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage; National Security and Intelligence; Child Poverty Reduction
  • Winston Peters (NZ First): Deputy Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs; State Owned Enterprises; Racing
  • Kelvin Davis: Minister for Crown/Māori Relations; Corrections; Tourism; Associate Minister of Education (Māori ed)
  • Grant Robertson: Minister of Finance (incl regulatory reform); Sport and Recreation; Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage
  • Phil Twyford: Minister of Housing and Urban Development; Transport
  • Megan Woods: Minister of Energy and Resources; Greater Christchurch Regeneration; Research, Science and Innovation; Minister Responsible for the Earthquake Commission
  • Chris Hipkins: Minister of Education; State Services; Leader of the House; Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services
  • Andrew Little: Minister of Justice; Courts; Treaty of Waitangi Negotiations; Minister Responsible for the GCSB; NZSIS; Pike River Re-entry
  • Carmel Sepuloni: Minister for Social Development; Disability Issues. Associate Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage; Pacific Peoples
  • David Clark: Minister of Health; Associate Minister of Finance
  • David Parker: Attorney-General; Minister for Economic Development; Environment; Trade and Export Growth; Associate Minister of Finance
  • Nanaia Mahuta: Minister for Māori Development; Local Government; Associate Minister for the Environment
  • Stuart Nash: Minister of Police; Fisheries; Revenue; Small Business
  • Iain Lees-Galloway: Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety; Immigration; ACC; Deputy Leader of the House
  • Jenny Salesa: Minister for Building and Construction; Ethnic Communities; Associate Minister of Education; Health; Housing and Urban Development
  • Damien O'Connor: Minister of Agriculture; Biosecurity; Food Safety; Rural Communities; Associate Minister of Trade and Export Growth
  • Clare Curran: Minister of Broadcasting, Communications and Digital Media; Government Digital Services; Associate Minister for ACC; State Services (Open Government)
  • Ron Mark (NZ First): Minister of Defence; Veterans
  • Tracey Martin (NZ First): Minister for Children; Internal Affairs; Seniors; Associate Minister of Education
  • Shane Jones (NZ First): Minister of Forestry; Infrastructure; Regional Economic Development; Associate Minister of Finance; Transport

  • Kris Faafoi: Minister of Civil Defence; Commerce and Consumer Affairs; Associate Minister of Immigration
  • Peeni Henare: Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector; Whānau Ora; Youth; Associate Minister for Social Development
  • Willie Jackson: Minister of Employment; Associate Minister for Māori Development
  • Aupito William Sio: Minister for Pacific Peoples; Associate Minister for Courts; Justice
  • Meka Whaitiri: Minister of Customs; Associate Minister of Agriculture; Associate Minister for Crown/Māori Relations; Associate Minister of Local Government

  • James Shaw (Greens): Minister for Climate Change; Statistics; Associate Minister of Finance
  • Julie Anne Genter (Greens): Minister for Women; Associate Minister of Health; Transport
  • Eugenie Sage (Greens): Minister of Conservation; Land Information; Associate Minister for the Environment

  • Michael Wood: Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister for Ethnic Communities
  • Fletcher Tabuteau (NZ First): Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister of Foreign Affairs; Regional Economic Development
  • Jan Logie (Greens): Parliamentary Under-Secretary to the Minister of Justice (Domestic and Sexual Violence Issues)

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs