27 Sep 2014

Timeline of Labour Party's leadership

4:55 pm on 27 September 2014

The Labour Party leadership could change hands for the fourth time in three years, following current leader David Cunliffe's resignation today.

Phil Goff.

Phil Goff stepped down as the leader of the Labour Party after the 2011 election. Photo: RNZ / Diego Opatowski

Phil Goff's resignation

Saturday 26 November 2011

With 27 percent of the vote, Labour loses the election under then-leader Phil Goff. The result is a fall from the 34 percent they received three years earlier - and at the time is the party's worst result under MMP.

Phil Goff gives an election night speech hinting strongly that he will resign.

Tuesday 29 November 2011

Following a five-hour caucus meeting, Mr Goff announces he, and Labour's then deputy leader Annette King, will step down, effective from 13 December.

Five MPs put themselves forward to pick up the roles - David Cunliffe, David Parker, David Shearer, Grant Robertson and Nanaia Mahuta.

David Shearer.

David Shearer - the party's MP for Mount Albert - stepped down as leader in August 2013. Photo: SUPPLIED

David Shearer's appointment

Tuesday 13 December 2011

The Mount Albert MP, David Shearer, takes out the leadership contest. Grant Robertson, who is the Wellington Central MP, replaces Ms King as deputy.

Shearer steps down as leader

Thursday 22 August 2013

Mr Shearer resigns as leader of the party mid-term, saying he no longer has the confidence of many caucus colleagues.

Over the coming days three MPs put their hats in the ring for the job - David Cunliffe, Grant Robertson, and Shane Jones, who has since left parliament.

The candidates undergo a cross-country campaign to gather support.

David Cunliffe wins leadership

Sunday 15 September 2013

The MP for New Lynn, David Cunliffe, takes out the contest. He is voted in as leader by Labour members and unions affiliated with the party - garnering 60.14 percent and 70.77 percent support respectively.

However, Mr Cunliffe fails to win the support of Labour MPs. Just under a third support his leadership, while 47 percent opt for Grant Robertson.

Both of the other candidates voice their support for Mr Cunliffe's leadership.

Deputy leadership role changes hands

In yet another shift in the party's leadership, David Parker is elected as deputy. He takes over the role from Grant Robertson.

David Parker on election night in Auckland.

David Parker is expected to take on the role of acting leader after Mr Cunliffe's resignation. Photo: RNZ / Kim Baker Wilson

Dismal election result for Labour

Saturday 20 September 2014

Labour faces its worst election defeat since 1922, achieving only 25 percent of the vote. The result is down from the 27.5 percent loss of 2011.

However on election night, Mr Cunliffe stated his intention to stay on as leader.

Tuesday 23 September 2014

Labour Party MPs enter a seven-hour caucus meeting, in which they agree to review their disastrous election campaign. No decision is made, however, about whether to hold a leadership vote.

Saturday 27 September 2014

In a turnaround from his earlier plans to stay on as leader, David Cunliffe resigns from the role after appearing before the party's ruling council. His resignation is effective from the end of caucus on Tuesday.

Mr Cunliffe says he will seek re-election through a primary leadership contest, with voting rights again split between Labour affiliated unions, party members and caucus. He says he expects the party's deputy, David Parker, to take up the job until that vote takes place.

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs