3 Dec 2013

Shane Ardern MP to step down at next election

12:32 pm on 3 December 2013

Taranaki-King Country MP Shane Ardern is the latest National Party MP to announce he will retire from politics at the 2014 general election.

Mr Ardern said he will not seek re-election so he can spend more time with his family and return to farming full-time.

He was first elected in a by-election in 1998 and is currenly the chair of the Primary Production select committee.

Others to announce they will stand down at the next election are Cabinet minister, Chris Tremain and MPs Paul Hutchison, Cam Calder, Kate Wilkinson, Phil Heatley, Katrina Shanks, and Chris Auchinvole.