5 Mar 2024

Taite Music Prize finalists announced

1:13 pm on 5 March 2024
No caption

Photo: Supplied

The finalists for the Taite Music Prize 2024 have been announced by Independent Music NZ (IMNZ) and Recorded Music NZ.

The award recognises outstanding New Zealand albums released in the past year.

The awards will be presented on Tuesday, 23 April at the same time as the NZ On Air Outstanding Music Journalism Award, IMNZ Classic Record and the Independent Spirit Award.

The winner will receive a cash prize of $12,500.

The 10 albums in contention for the 2024 Taite Music Prize span genres from hip hop to indie folk to metal.

The 2024 Taite Music Prize finalists in alphabetical order are:

  • Dick Move - Wet (1:12 Records)
  • Ebony Lamb - Ebony Lamb (Slow Time Records)
  • Erny Belle - Not Your Cupid (Flying Nun Records)
  • Home Brew - Run It Back (Years Gone By)
  • Mermaidens - Mermaidens (Independent)
  • Shepherd's Reign - Ala Mai (Golden Robot Records)
  • Tiny Ruins - Ceremony (Ursa Minor)
  • Tom Lark - Brave Star (Winegum Records)
  • Unknown Mortal Orchestra - V (Jagjaguwar Records)
  • Vera Ellen - Ideal Home Noise (Flying Nun Records)

Get the RNZ app

for ad-free news and current affairs